Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


Inclusion: The Politics of Difference in Medical Research (Chicago Studies in Practices of Meaning)

Inclusion: The Politics of Difference in Medical Research (Chicago Studies in Practices of Meaning)
Author: Steven Epstein
ISBN 13: 9780226213101
ISBN 10: 226213102
Edition: N/A
Publisher: University Of Chicago Press
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Format: Paperback
Pages: 432
List Price: $24.00

With Inclusion, Steven Epstein argues that strategies to achieve diversity in medical research mask deeper problems, ones that might require a different approach and different solutions.


Formal concern with this issue, Epstein shows, is a fairly recent phenomenon. Until the mid-1980s, scientists often studied groups of white, middle-aged men—and assumed that conclusions drawn from studying them would apply to the rest of the population. But struggles involving advocacy groups, experts, and Congress led to reforms that forced researchers to diversify the population from which they drew for clinical research. While the prominence of these inclusive practices has offered hope to traditionally underserved groups, Epstein argues that it has drawn attention away from the tremendous inequalities in health that are rooted not in biology but in society.


“Epstein’s use of theory to demonstrate how public policies in the health profession are shaped makes this book relevant for many academic disciplines. . . . Highly recommended.”—Choice


“A masterful comprehensive overview of a wide terrain.”—Troy Duster, Biosocieties



"A delightful read. Epstein''s writing is accessible without oversimplifying, making the book a real option in both undergraduate and graduate courses. . . . Inclusion is exemplary not only for the compelling account it provides, nor just for the reams of compelling evidence Epstein incorporates, but also for its deftness in marrying together different disciplinary perspectives of Science Studies, Sociology, History, and Politics, to name a few. . . . A pleasure to read from beginning to end."

— 2007 Robert K. Merton Professional Award