Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


High Lonesome: New and Selected Stories 1966-2006

High Lonesome: New and Selected Stories 1966-2006
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
ISBN 13: 9780060501204
ISBN 10: 60501200
Edition: Reprint
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: 2007-05-29
Format: Paperback
Pages: 688
List Price: $19.99

No other writer can match the impressive oeuvre of Joyce Carol Oates. High Lonesome: New and Selected Stories 1966-2006 gathers short fiction from the acclaimed author's seminal collections and includes eleven new tales that further demonstrate the breathtaking artistry and striking originality of an incomparable talent who "has imbued the American short story with an edgy vitality and raw social surfaces" (Chicago Tribune).

The New York Times - Cathleen Schine

For those of us who have stood before bookstore shelves lined with Joyce Carol Oates volumes, paralyzed with awe, wondering which of her more than 100 books we should open first, High Lonesome, a new collection of 36 stories written between 1966 and 2006, is a welcome addition. The collection, which includes classic stories like "In the Region of Ice," which won the O. Henry prize in 1967, and the much anthologized "Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?" as well as 11 new stories, spans Oates's career and gives a remarkably coherent picture of her work.