Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


Writing for Your Life: Discovering the Story of Your Life's Journey

Writing for Your Life: Discovering the Story of Your Life's Journey
Author: Deena Metzger
ISBN 13: 9780062506122
ISBN 10: 62506129
Edition: 1st
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication Date: 1992-11-20
Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
List Price: $16.99

In the tradition of Annie Dillard and Natalie Goldberg, this resource for writers and non-writers alike shows the act of writing to be a dynamic means of knowing, healing, and creating the body, mind, and spirit.

Library Journal

Poet, novelist ( What Dinah Thought, LJ 8/89), teacher, and therapist, Metzger presents unique writing exercises geared to liberate one's creativity from the rational mind. She progresses from a series of questions producing self-knowledge to others that result in stories and novels. Metzger is most engaging when she is offering concrete advice and examples from her friends' and students' writings instead of dispensing mystic philosophy. She lost this reviewer in Part 3, where she instructs the reader to meditate in order ``to contact the wisest part of yourself and allow it to coalesce into a mythic or historic figure '' to serve as an inner guide. However, all readers of this self-help book should be able to find some method here that best allows them to unlock their suppressed imaginations and write more freely.-- Cathy Sabol, Northern Virginia Community Coll., Manassas