Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


John Keats: Selected Poems (Penguin Classics: Poetry)

John Keats: Selected Poems (Penguin Classics: Poetry)
Author: John Keats
ISBN 13: 9780140424478
ISBN 10: 140424474
Edition: Revised
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
List Price: $14.00

John Keats survives today as the archetypal Romantic genius who died tragically early. The rapid development of Keats's poetic skills is powerfully displayed in this selection, which includes his first major poem, "On First Looking into Chapman's Homer," as well as "Endymion," "The Eve of St. Agnes," "La Belle Dame sans Merci," and "The Fall of Hyperion." Throughout, Keats's preoccupying themes of love, art, sorrow, the natural world, and the nature of the imagination magnificently emerge. In his superb Introduction, John Barnard discusses the focus of the anthology, which emphasizes Keats's place as a "second-generation Romantic."

Widely regarded as one of the greatest versifiers in the English language, John Keats (1795-1821) published three volumes of poems in his lifetime: Poems (1817); Endymion (1818); and Lamia, Isabella, The Eve of St. Agnes, and Other Poems (1820). He died of tuberculosis in Rome in 1821.
John Barnard is Professor of English at the University of Leeds, England.