Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


The Accidental Asian: Notes of a Native Speaker

The Accidental Asian: Notes of a Native Speaker
Author: Eric Liu
ISBN 13: 9780375704864
ISBN 10: 375704868
Edition: New title
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: 1999-09-07
Format: Paperback
Pages: 206
List Price: $14.95

A personable and poignant defense of assimilation, written in the tradition of Richard Rodriguez and Henry Louis Gates Jr., in which one of the nation's leading Asian American voices tackles issues of race, identity, and politics.

Publishers Weekly

In this candid, well-crafted memoir, Liu, a former speechwriter for President Clinton, explores his identity as a second-generation Chinese American. Although he was raised to assimilate, Liu recalls that his discomfort as an adolescent when trying to fit in was problematical because his hair and skin tone marked him as different from those around him. He also shares haunting memories of traveling to China and visiting his grandmother in Manhattan's Chinatown, events that engendered ambivalent emotions both of alienation from and attraction to his heritage. Liu's concerns about the concept of "Asian American," which he regards as based on physical characteristics rather than shared ethnicity, are rendered thoughtfully, as are his positive feelings about intermarriage. (His wife is a white Southerner with a Jewish grandmother.) He is impassioned, however, about the fallout from a scandal surrounding the activities of democratic fund-raiser John Huang. When Liu calls New York Times columnist William Safire "a Jew and defender of Jews" for unfairly stereotyping Asian Americans because of Huang's questionable actions, this strikes a discordant note.