Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


Six Plays by Lillian Hellman

Six Plays by Lillian Hellman
Author: Lillian Hellman
ISBN 13: 9780394741123
ISBN 10: 394741129
Edition: N/A
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: 1979-10-12
Format: Paperback
Pages: 494
List Price: $17.95

These six plays span nearly twenty years of theatre and display the range of Lillian Hellman's dramatic gifts. The Children's Hour (1934), her first play, was considered shocking at the time; it concerns the devastating effects of a child's malicious charge of lesbianism against two of her teachers. Days to Come (1936) is about the tragic consequences of strike-breaking in a small Midwestern community. The Little Foxes (1939) and Another Part of the Forest (1946) together constitute a chilling study of the financial and psychological conflicts within the Hubbards, a wealthy and rapacious Southern family. Watch on the Rhine (1941), the story of how fascism affects an American family and the refugees they harbor, won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award. The Autumn Garden (1951) is a poignant yet humorous drama set at a summer resort near New Orleans.