Textbook

Books Price Comparison (Including Amazon) - Guaranteed Lowest Prices on Books


 

Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr)

 
 
 
 
Devil at Midnight (Novel of the Upyr)
Author: Emma Holly
ISBN 13: 9780425237816
ISBN 10: 425237818
Edition: Reissue
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 336
List Price: $8.99
 
 

For years, mercenary captain Christian Durand has done everything he can to protect his men. When a beautiful ghost appears to offer comfort, he assumes the strain has finally pushed him over the edge. All he knows for certain is that this woman tugs at both his heart and desires. But now that a vampire queen has set her immortal sights on Christian, he must choose between his darker urges and a powerful love that spans centuries.

Publishers Weekly

Launching a duology, Holly weaves together vampire lore, time travel, and uninhibited passion. 1950s teenager Grace Michaels is killed by her abusive father. She awakens in a place between life and death, from which a spirit guide sends her back in time to 1460. Mercenary Christian Durand is surprised by Grace's ghostly appearance, but that doesn't stop him from initiating unconventional sexual encounters with the generically innocent yet oddly worldly young woman. Her rival for Christian's attention is upyr (vampire) queen Nim Wei, who sexually manipulates Christian's band of warriors and makes a deal with Christian's cruel father in hopes of seducing Christian into being her undead companion forever. Explicit scenes of promiscuous sex and violence, sometimes in close proximity, will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Laurell K. Hamilton, but may put off readers of more traditional romance. (Nov.)